PDA

View Full Version : Do you say "I" or "we" when talking about your company

Rob Toth
10-21-2009, 12:44 AM
When you reference your company/operations... do you say I or we?

Most in this forum likely aren't working from large offices with a staff of 30. Neither am I. So how do you refer to your company?

I tend to automatically go with "we" in just about every discussion... back when I was clueless/new I forced myself to do this at times so that I'd sound "bigger".

Sure. There is that.

But, these days, it's not about wanted to seem "big" ... it's not about trying to have people think that I'm sitting in a high rise, in an office where my desk alone is worth $40,000 with staff buzzing around at my call...

No, these days I tend to automatically go with "we" because I envision every part of the business as a group or team effort.

I mean, I have numerous sub-contractors/freelancers I turn to on a weekly basis, I have virtual assistants (FT and PT), I have my peers/mastermind group I run things by, I have various joint ventured partners etc etc .. but even without all that, if I was getting started again knowing what I know now, I'd still treat every step as a potential team effort.

Which expert can I bring in for this step? What can I outsource in this step? How can I leverage someone else's time to move through this cheaper and quicker? Who can I bring in for input/critique? What company or individual can I setup a creative JV with to make this go more smoothly and as a win-win?

And because of THAT new mindset, it's never just me or I...

Garland Coulson
10-21-2009, 02:16 PM
Hi Rob,

Like you, I have an outsourced team that includes a programmer, support team, and an affiliate income manager.

Back when I used to work with large companies, I might have used "we" to sound bigger, but now I usually use I since I work with other entrepreneurs.

Much more fun that working with big companies with all the bureaucracy!

smplylvn
10-23-2009, 08:57 PM