PDA

View Full Version : Advice for an offline JV

Ty Brown
07-25-2009, 11:42 PM
Hi there, brand new to the board. It seems very online related but I figure a bunch of marketing geniuses like are on this board could help me out.

I'm a dog trainer and I'm looking to set up a joint venture that would bring in additional leads and commissions. Let me tell you what I want to do so you can tell me the fatal flaws, tell me what I need to do differently, etc.

I want to set up a 'dog business' club of various dog related businesses that are complementary and non-competing. For example, my dog training business would be in, several dog groomers from various zones, dog kennels, etc.

Every business in the network would get membership cards that they would hand out to their clients. The cards would send people to a site that would get them discounts on preferred vendors in the network. The businesses would of course benefit because they would get in front of their target market by way of other complementary businesses. I would need the other members of the network to offer some good discounts or other incentives to make it a worthwhile network.

I want to benefit in two ways:
1- Getting my business out there through a network of complementary businesses giving away these cards.
2- Charging a 15% commission on new business brought by the network cards to these other businesses.

So, that is my idea. In running over this idea, though, I'm running across a few problems that I'm hoping I can find help with.
1- If a business is offering a discount through the network for new clients would they also be willing to pay me a commission?
2- Do you think there would be a good way to make sure I get 15% lifetime commissions on all new clients? Or perhaps commissions for a year?