PDA

View Full Version : "I'm a Noob, where do I start"

dev.null
01-03-2010, 09:22 PM
Hello all,

You guys may remember the discussion on the board that went for a week (Nov 22 through Dec 1) titled "Need a JV Broker".

In it Shane opened with the fact that he was new and was making $4k/mo, and looking to do "a big launch".

In the discussion Rob Toth made this post:

http://www.jvnotifypro.com/community/index.php/topic,2797.msg11126.html#msg11126

which most agreed (as do I) was dead-on.

A couple of Rob's points were "since you're new, how can you tell others you can teach them something." Here's one in particular:

You were asking me some basic questions (questions and feedback and advice is seeking consulting, by the way) ... and I know this is your first launch and your first real product endeavour. So the most obvious point would be how does that qualify you to teach others to make money??

I want to be 100% clear here before I ask you guys to comment - I'm NOT trying to start up an argument about "who's right and who's wrong" between Rob and Shane - if you leave this post thinking that, you're way off.

I'm hoping in the end we can have a nice thread, that if you're a noob to IM you can come read and walk away knowing what you've got to do.

Here's my question. It's obvious Shane is new - he said so himself. At the same time he's making $50k a year (52 weeks times $1k a week), which equals a pretty respectable 8-5 job without the 8-5 part ;-D. So he can't easily be dismissed as a complete neophyte.

Where he is a noob is running with big stuff. And this was Rob's point - so you want a "big launch", you better get in shape. Rob's estimation (as well as a number of us) is/was that Shane wasn't ready for something "big". But hey - maybe "big" in Shane's "$1k a week" world is a $25k launch - did he ever define it? - that's a side question, not the real issue of my post.

So, to the main point. "What's the progression for someone to start at zero and move on up?"