PDA

View Full Version : Making money in niches besides "Make Money Online"

chris23w
05-30-2009, 03:58 PM
Hey guys, I'm new here and I've been studying affiliate marketing for a few months now. Although I have learned a lot, I have not made any money yet, mainly because I cannot find a good product/program to promote.

When I read I am always told to go for obscure niches (not just "Make Money Online") but I am not sure how I would build a site and monetize it around such niches. So, how can one build and monetize a site around an obscure niche (like hamster grooming for example)?

Also, I did some keyword research and I have about 10 different keywords (all different niches) that are reasonably high traffic and little to no competition. Should I build and optimize a site for only the one keyword that I found for each different niche, or find additional keywords for each niche that have less than ideal competition?

I'm sorry if the questions are worded awkwardly, but that's the best way I could word them as I am still feeling my way around in affiliate marketing.

Thanks in advance,

Christian A. Watson

charleskirkland
05-30-2009, 09:40 PM
Go into the high traffic niches.

When you are the lone player in a niche you can't get any JV's and
it will typically not be a great money maker.

But in the high traffic niches you can always get traffic via ppc and jv's and
still do fine.

Charles

citrus
05-31-2009, 12:09 AM
Try to go for niches which you know are popular and getting a lot of searches. Then, using keyword tools, find long tail keywords so that you will still be in the same niche, but will have far less competition. That way, you will realistically be able to rank in the top 10 of Google for those search terms.